Thisara Perera to lead Sri Lanka in three-match ODI cricket series vs India


Sri Lanka have named all-rounder Thisara Perera as their captain ahead of their three-match ODI series against India. Perera, who takes over the reins from Upul Tharanga, is also expected to lead the visitors in the three T20 internationals scheduled after the ODIs.

Sri Lanka have faced somewhat of a crisis in the past year with whitewashes at the hands of South Africa, Pakistan and India at home.

The Sri Lankans have also seen their captaincy change hands three times already as Thisara Perera takes over after Tharanga, who took over from Angelo Mathews in July.